spirituality

Life is a ….!

“Aging is nothing; waking up is everything.” Maya Angelou

Life is a workout

I just finished my daily strength workout with my coach. In addition to reps with weights, we talked about life, mental health and physical fitness. We shared our journeys with ailing parents. She and I were both caregivers. Her mom and my mom were like sisters. We laughed as we reflected on being a caregiver and how we have matured over the years both naturally & spiritually.

I have been working out consistently for five years. I started several months after my mom seriously injured herself. I went from an independent daughter to an executor and caretaker. To add to this change, my job at the time that I had loved for over twenty years wasn’t enjoyable anymore. I was apprehensively preparing to step away and start a new entrepreneurial career. My stress level was rising and so was my blood pressure. It was 143/96. My mental health was being compromised and because I have always been strong, I didn’t know how to ask for help. I saw myself begin to spiral out of control and this small voice within me said, “call your god sister”. That was five years ago. Our morning workouts have changed my life.

I began to learn about nutrician and mental wellness.  I encouraged myself, took baby steps and each day got stronger.  Today, my blood pressure is 123/81.  I am still working on my weight, but my overall health is good. What I have learned is that I am not trying to reach a goal, I am living a new lifestyle.  I am not trying to be healthy for a week but for a lifetime. Everyday it is a challenge and my coach helps me rise to meet it.  Some weeks are better than others but I am learning to fight for myself.  I have been guilty of sabotaging my own success by being afraid to fail, afraid of letting myself down. But I am reversing the cycle.  I am on a quest to fall in love with my body the same way that I unconditionally love & embrace my mind and spirit. I love the way this sounds. It feels good to hear myself say it.

Life is a real experience

There are some days when I lose my focus. I begin to slide into grief because I miss my mom. Everyday a moment passes when I would love to talk to her about something.  I miss friends and family too who are no longer with me.  I miss dreams that seem to be delayed.  I miss looking ahead and not being able to catch a glimpse of the finish line.  I can envision the end.  It is a sobering thought.   I want to be a good mom, wife, sister, and friend. I want to leave a mark on this world. I want to be remembered, my words of wisdom being passed down through generations.  All this is true however I won’t linger in this space long because life is a gift.  I know joy and peace.  I hear daily someone say “I love you” who really means it.  The gratitude that I feel is overwhelming.  I have had a beautiful first act of my life. I am stepping into the second act with renewed vision.

Life is a blessing

Life is a blessing with all its challenges, tears and fears. Don’t waste one second.  Make efforts to fill each moment with things & people that you love. Start with yourself and love unyieldingly.  Don’t get bogged down with the countless imperfections that you know and see.  Let the love that you have for yourself erase all that.  Share yourself with your family, friends, and the community.  Make your space a blessed place.  My sister explains that each of us is “God’s masterpiece.”  We are all one-of-a-kind.  There is no other “you” in the universe.  Therefore, you must be yourself!  Be the blessing that you were born to be.

This was a good workout today. Thank you for joining me.

.

Leave a comment